Codex Usage
Last updated 09 Sep 2026

Is Codex Free? Free Plan Limits, Access & What You Get

Yes. OpenAI currently includes limited Codex access with the $0 ChatGPT Free plan. You do not need ChatGPT Plus simply to try Codex. Free usage is limited, and OpenAI does not currently publish a fixed numeric Free Codex allowance comparable to the model-specific ranges it publishes for Plus, Pro, and Business.

Base Cost
$0 / Month

No credit card or paid plan needed to start

Supported Surfaces
CLI, IDE & Desktop

Local terminal, VS Code, Cursor, Desktop app

Numeric Quotas
Unpublished

No fixed message, token, or prompt cap published

Live status
Live in /status

Session status & reset timing in your CLI

What You Get with Codex on ChatGPT Free

OpenAI includes Codex across all ChatGPT accounts, meaning anyone with a standard Free login can access OpenAI's technical software development agent. You authenticate directly using your existing ChatGPT credentials rather than managing API keys or entering payment details.

What Is Supported on Free
  • Official Codex CLI: Install @openai/codex and authenticate with your ChatGPT login.
  • IDE Extensions: Connect to Codex inside Visual Studio Code and Cursor.
  • ChatGPT Desktop App: Access the Codex view alongside Chat and Work interfaces.
  • Target Workloads: Single-file edits, short bash commands, script debugging, git diff reviews, and lightweight technical problem solving.
What Is Restricted or Locked
  • Strict Usage Pauses: Once your baseline allowance is consumed, prompts pause until your window resets.
  • Cloud Task Delegation: Background cloud tasks, asynchronous repository reviews, and web sandboxes require paid tiers.
  • No Guaranteed Priority: During peak demand hours, Free sessions may experience throttled latency or reduced availability.
  • Limited Recovery Add-ons: Paid instant resets and guaranteed pay-as-you-go credits are not universal on Free.

What Are the Codex Free Usage Limits?

OpenAI does not publish a numeric allowance for Free Codex usage. Paid tiers get model-specific 5-hour ranges — 5 to 2,000 local messages on Plus, for instance. Free gets no published turn, prompt, message, or token figure at all.

Beware of Fabricated Quota Numbers

Third-party articles often speculate that Codex Free offers “10 prompts per day” or “50 messages per week.” OpenAI has never published such fixed allocations. Codex meters usage continuously based on tokens processed—including prompt instructions, project context, codebase files, active tool outputs, and reasoning tokens. A single complex multi-file prompt consumes significantly more allowance than five trivial one-liners.

Last updated: 09 Sep 2026. Overview of Free tier limits and official disclosure status:
Metric / FeatureWhat you get on FreeWhat happens at the limitDisclosure Status
Plan Cost$0 / month (no credit card required)Free access included with standard ChatGPT accountPublished
Codex AccessIncluded (limited access)Supports Desktop app, Codex CLI, and IDE extensionsPublished
5-Hour Burst AllowanceNot published by OpenAIPrompts pause until reset; may fall back to lower capabilityNot publicly disclosed
Weekly Usage QuotaNot published by OpenAIPrompts pause until reset window clearsNot publicly disclosed
Cloud Task DelegationRestricted / baselineBackground cloud delegation and heavy automation require paid tiersPublished
Flexible Credit PurchasesLimited & account-dependentPay-as-you-go credits are restricted; primarily available on Plus and ProAccount-dependent
Paid Instant ResetsIneligibleRestricted exclusively to personal Plus and Pro subscribersPublished

To compare these limits against Plus, Pro, and Business tiers, see our complete Codex usage limits table.

How to Check Your Actual Free Usage and Reset Time

OpenAI publishes no universal quota numbers for the Free plan, so the only numbers that count are the ones your own signed-in client shows you. There are two places to look:

Method 1: Codex CLI

Run /status in Terminal

During any active CLI session, type /status. This outputs your account tier, remaining percentage, and exact reset countdown.

Method 2: Web & Desktop

ChatGPT Settings > Usage

Open ChatGPT on the web or desktop app, click your profile avatar, and select Settings > Usage to see your Work & Codex meter and upcoming reset timestamp.

Example account statusTier: ChatGPT Free ($0)
Current window42% remaining · resets in 1h 38m
Plan statusFree tier — prompts pause when depleted
Values are illustrative. Run /status for your own numbers.

For more details on rolling windows and recovery cycles, see our guide on when your Codex usage resets.

Codex Free vs. Go vs. Plus: Which Plan Do You Need?

Developers often wonder whether they can get by on the Free plan, whether the low-cost ChatGPT Go (~$8/mo) tier is sufficient, or if upgrading to ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo) is required. Here is how they compare across pricing, access, published quotas, and recovery mechanisms:

DimensionFree ($0/mo)Go (~$8/mo)Plus ($20/mo)
Monthly Cost
$0 / month
~$8 / month
$20 / month
Target User
Casual testing, light scripts, quick sanity checks
Lightweight coding with higher baseline limits
Working individual developers & regular coding
Codex Access
Limited access across CLI, desktop & IDE
Expanded access over Free tier
Full standard developer access across local & cloud
Published 5-Hour Numeric Limit
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed
Published model ranges: 5–2,000 local msgs / 5h
Published Weekly Numeric Limit
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed (covers a few focused sessions/wk)
Exhaustion Handling
Prompts pause until reset; no instant reset
Prompts pause until reset; upgrade to Plus
Wait for reset, buy instant reset, or add credits
Flexible Pay-As-You-Go Credits
Limited / account-dependent
Not universally available for Free accounts
Limited / account-dependent
Subject to account eligibility
Available in Settings > Usage
Billed on token rate cards with auto top-up
Cloud Tasks & Delegation
Restricted / baseline
Lightweight cloud tasks
Full cloud agent task delegation

Stay on Free If:

You only need Codex for occasional troubleshooting, small script edits, learning the CLI commands, or periodic coding assistance.

Choose Go (~$8/mo) If:

You want higher baseline message limits and extended context without committing to the full $20/month Plus subscription.

Upgrade to Plus ($20/mo) If:

You write code daily, need published 5-hour allowances (5–2,000 local msgs), delegate cloud tasks, or rely on paid instant resets and credits.

For full coverage of the Plus tier, read our dedicated guide to ChatGPT Plus Codex limits.

What Happens When You Hit the Free Codex Limit?

When your Free allowance is exhausted, Codex pauses further prompts. If you hit the limit in the middle of an active multi-step turn, OpenAI permits Codex to finish working on that specific turn (subject to fair-use safeguards) before pausing subsequent requests.

Example account statusChatGPT Free
StatePlan usage limit reached
Active turnCompleted
New promptsPaused until your usage window resets
Next stepsWait for the scheduled reset · check Settings > Usage · upgrade to ChatGPT Plus
Values are illustrative. Run /status for your own numbers.

Your 4 Options When Blocked on the Free Plan

Option 1: Wait for Reset

Wait for the Timer (Free)

Your quota refreshes automatically once the reset window passes. Check your reset countdown in /status. This costs nothing.

Option 2: Check for Credits

Check Account Credit Eligibility

Check Settings > Usage. Flexible credit purchases are limited and account-dependent on Free tiers, but if available on your account, credits let you continue without upgrading.

Option 3: Upgrade to Plus

Upgrade to ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo)

Upgrading unlocks published 5-hour ranges (5–2,000 local msgs), background cloud tasks, paid instant weekly resets, and guaranteed pay-as-you-go credit top-ups.

Option 4: Supply an API Key

Switch to OpenAI Platform API Billing

Set OPENAI_API_KEY in your environment. The CLI will bypass subscription limits and bill your OpenAI Platform API balance per token.

To compare recovery mechanics in detail, see our comparison of Codex credits, paid instant resets, and API billing.

Is There a Separate Codex Free Trial?

If you are searching for a “Codex free trial,” you do not need to hunt for special coupon codes, promotional URLs, or time-limited trial signups. Because OpenAI includes limited Codex access directly with the standard $0 ChatGPT Free plan, your free ChatGPT account already functions as an ongoing trial.

Understanding Trial Distinctions

  • Personal ChatGPT Free: Never expires. You get recurring baseline Codex capacity without entering billing information.
  • OpenAI Platform API Grants: In the past, OpenAI provided $5 in temporary API credits to new developer accounts. These credits were tied to the Platform API (for API keys), not to ChatGPT subscription quotas.
  • Enterprise & Team Pilots: Organizations evaluating ChatGPT Business or Enterprise can request temporary pilot programs through OpenAI sales, which include administrative management and pooled seat testing.

Is the Codex CLI Free?

Yes, the Codex CLI software itself is 100% free to download and install. OpenAI distributes the official CLI as an open npm package (@openai/codex) that you can install globally on macOS, Linux, or Windows without paying any software license fee.

CLI Installation:
npm install -g @openai/codex

While installing and running local commands (like codex --help) is free, using the CLI to generate code requires authenticating with your ChatGPT account. On a Free account, your prompt generation draws against your Free plan quota until reached.

Is the Codex API Free? (ChatGPT Codex vs. OpenAI Platform API)

A common point of confusion for searchers is confusing ChatGPT Codex access with the OpenAI Platform API. These are two completely distinct billing systems:

ChatGPT Codex (Consumer)

Access through ChatGPT login (Free, Plus, Pro). Usage is bundled into your plan allowance. On the Free plan, it costs $0, but prompts pause when your quota is exhausted.

Bundled plan quota · $0 on Free
OpenAI Platform API

Access via an API key (OPENAI_API_KEY). Billed pay-as-you-go per million input and output tokens. Not free with a ChatGPT subscription.

Metered token billing · Requires funded API balance
Important: Setting an OPENAI_API_KEY in the Codex CLI switches the billing engine from your ChatGPT subscription quota to metered OpenAI Platform API billing. Do not supply an API key expecting free usage; it will consume your OpenAI Platform credits or charge your credit card.

How to Monitor Your Codex Allowance Locally

Whether you are on the Free plan, Plus, or Pro, tracking when your current window resets prevents surprise work interruptions. Codex Usage is an independent, free local monitoring tool for macOS that displays your quota status, remaining percentage, and exact reset countdowns in your menu bar or local terminal—without requiring a separate account or API key.

Install Codex Usage Locally

Free & local · Zero telemetry · Reuses your CLI login

Full Setup Guide
Quick install via terminal:
curl -fsSL https://www.codexusage.dev/install.sh | sh

Frequently Asked Questions

Is OpenAI Codex really free to use?

Yes. OpenAI includes limited Codex access with the $0 ChatGPT Free plan. You can install the official Codex CLI, log in with your free ChatGPT account, and run coding tasks without entering a credit card. However, your usage is limited, and once exhausted, your prompts pause until your usage window resets.

Do I need ChatGPT Plus to use Codex?

No. You do not need ChatGPT Plus simply to try or use Codex. OpenAI includes baseline Codex access across all personal ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. ChatGPT Plus ($20/month) is only required if you need higher usage limits, published 5-hour model ranges, background cloud tasks, or access to paid instant resets and flexible credit top-ups.

What are the exact numeric limits on the Codex Free plan?

OpenAI does not publicly disclose a fixed numeric prompt, token, or message quota for the ChatGPT Free plan. Unlike ChatGPT Plus, Pro, and Business tiers—where OpenAI publishes estimated 5-hour message ranges by model—the Free plan operates on unpublished, dynamic limits governed by token consumption, model complexity, and system demand. To see your actual remaining capacity and reset timing, run /status in the CLI or visit Settings > Usage.

Is there a separate Codex free trial?

No separate trial signup is required. Because OpenAI includes limited Codex access natively with the standard ChatGPT Free plan, your regular free account serves as an ongoing trial. There is no expiration date or credit card required simply to test Codex. This is distinct from limited-time promotional credit programs or enterprise pilot evaluations.

Can Free users purchase additional credits when they run out?

Credit-purchase availability for Free and Go accounts is currently limited and account-dependent. While OpenAI's flexible credit infrastructure allows Plus and Pro users to buy pay-as-you-go credits via Settings > Usage, official documentation notes that flexible pricing and feature availability vary by plan. Free accounts should check Settings > Usage to see if credit purchasing is enabled for their account.

Does regular ChatGPT web chat count against my Codex Free limit?

No. OpenAI separates standard ChatGPT conversational web chat from Codex. Everyday chat messages, web browsing, file uploads, and image generation run on independent meters that do not consume your Codex allowance. Codex shares an agentic quota pool across the CLI, IDE extensions, desktop app, and cloud tasks.

Is the Codex CLI free to download and install?

Yes. The official Codex CLI package (@openai/codex) is completely free to install via npm. Inspecting configuration, running local help, or viewing version info carries no charge. Executing generative coding prompts requires authenticating with a ChatGPT account or providing an API key; when logged into a Free account, prompts execute against your Free plan allowance.

Is Codex API access included free with ChatGPT Free?

No. Using Codex through your ChatGPT account (Free or paid) is entirely separate from the OpenAI Platform API. If you configure an OPENAI_API_KEY in your terminal or scripts, your requests are billed per token to your OpenAI API payment method under Platform rate cards. A ChatGPT Free subscription does not grant free OpenAI API credits.

Where these numbers come from

Compare other plans
When you run out