OpenAI Codex usage limits vary by plan structure. Plus and Business Standard operate on a rolling 5-hour window alongside a separate weekly window, whereas Pro $100, $200, $500 and Business Premium have no 5-hour usage limit. Pro still has included usage allowances; check Settings > Usage for remaining allowance and reset times. Enterprise/Edu workspaces on flexible credit-based pricing may have no fixed rate limits. OpenAI publishes model-dependent local-message ranges for Plus and Business Standard, but exact weekly numeric caps are not published. Check /status or the official usage page for your actual current numbers.
Last updated: 03 Oct 2026. Each row shows how much OpenAI actually publishes for that plan, and links the source it came from.
| Plan | 5-Hour Window | Weekly Window | Disclosure | Source & Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Check reset time and options offered to your account | Not published by OpenAI | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | Not publicly disclosed | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check reset time and options offered to your account | Not published by OpenAI | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | Not publicly disclosed | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check reset time and options offered to your account | 5–3,000 (Codex Usage summary of OpenAI's model-specific estimates) local messages / 5h | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | Derived summary | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check reset time and options offered to your account | No 5-hour limit; included usage allowance still applies. Check Settings > Usage for remaining allowance and reset times | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | No five-hour limit | Verified 03 Oct 2026 |
Check reset time and options offered to your account | No 5-hour limit. Current allowance unquantified; eligible accounts keep previous allowance through October 29, 2026. Check Settings > Usage for remaining allowance and reset times | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | No five-hour limit | Verified 03 Oct 2026 |
Check reset time and options offered to your account | No 5-hour limit. Highest included Pro usage; numeric estimates not published. Astra Ultrafast included. Check Settings > Usage for remaining allowance and reset times | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | No five-hour limit | Verified 03 Oct 2026 |
Check workspace allowance, credits and spend controls | 5–3,000 (Codex Usage summary of OpenAI's model-specific estimates) local messages / 5h | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | Derived summary | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check workspace allowance, credits and spend controls | No 5-hour limit (weekly reset schedule) | Exact allowance not published by OpenAI | No five-hour limit | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check workspace allowance, credits and spend controls | Contract-specific; flexible pricing has no fixed rate limits | Contract-specific | Contract-specific | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Check workspace allowance, credits and spend controls | Contract-specific; flexible pricing has no fixed rate limits | Contract-specific | Contract-specific | Verified 27 Sep 2026 |
Where these numbers come from
- Published values come from current OpenAI documentation and official pricing rate cards.
- Published ranges are the model-dependent message ranges OpenAI publishes itself. They are not guaranteed caps. The cross-model ranges above are Codex Usage summaries of those estimates, not separately published OpenAI plan ranges.
- “Not publicly disclosed” means the OpenAI source cited in that row gives no specific numeric allowance.
- This table describes what OpenAI publishes, not what your account has right now. For an analysis of active quota telemetry, token breakdowns, and metric visibility across plans, see our Codex analytics overview.
Limits by plan
- is Codex free and ChatGPT Free plan limits — what you get without a paid subscription.
- ChatGPT Plus Codex limits — the $20/mo tier in detail.
- ChatGPT Pro Codex limits — the $100/mo and $200/mo tiers.
- ChatGPT Business Codex limits for Standard vs. Premium seats — the 5-hour limit removal on Premium, workspace credits, and seat pooling.
- OpenAI Codex pricing and plan costs — plan economics, and which tier makes financial sense.
Limits by model
- GPT-6 Astra Codex usage limits — how Astra draws from your Work and Codex allowance.
- GPT-6.1 Sol availability and usage limits — shared allowance, credit rates, and what OpenAI hasn't published.
- GPT-5.6 Luna Codex usage limits — published message estimates, token rates, and how Luna compares to Sol, Terra, and Astra.
- GPT-5.3-Codex-Spark limits (Deprecated) — how its separate preview rate-limit tier operated before its September 14, 2026 deprecation.
- Codex recommended model and Power presets — what “Recommended set of models” means in client interfaces.
Resets, recovery, and what counts
- when your Codex usage resets — exact recovery timing for both windows.
- Codex weekly limit guide — the 7-day quota ceiling, reset reanchoring rules, and why OpenAI doesn't publish a fixed token cap.
- Codex 5-hour limit guide — why it isn't 5 hours of coding time, how a window initiates, and model message estimates.
- Codex credits, paid instant resets, banked resets, and API billing — how to choose once you have hit your plan limit.
- Codex Luna Reserve — fallback GPT-5.6 Luna capacity for eligible Plus and Pro accounts, and why a moon icon or
gpt-reserveshows up in/status. - what counts toward Codex usage across ChatGPT Work, Excel, and Workspace Agents — how agentic tasks share one pool of capacity.
- Codex context window guide — session memory and auto-compaction, and why they are not your plan allowance.
- why am I rate limited and what happens now — throttled sessions and 429s.
- Codex limit change history — dated record of quota shifts, model additions, and seat policy updates.